Thursday, 31 March 2011

Today I was called a hipster.

I had NO IDEA what that word meant, so I urban dictionaried it. For those of you who are as clueless as I was, here are some pictures that aid the definition:








(messenger bag, Agnes Deyn and someone else with an edgy haircut, Geek necklace from love hearts and crosses  Urban Outfitters ss11 lookbook, Vans deck shoes, The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger, the Vice Magazine book, The XX logo)

I kind of see the hipster thing. I'm totally obsessed with culture, and I do love vice magazine. (It's both free AND awesome!). And without realising it, I suppose I look kind of 'Hipster' esque. 
Check the glasses and the headband, and oh yeah, sometimes I get leg infections because my jeans are too tight. 
BUT WHAT I DONT GET is that hipster, for my understanding of the term, means someone so anti-mainstream that they are cool. Now yes, in some ways I'm pretty anti-mainstream, but I'm definitely not cool. And I'm pretty sure all the people I think are cool 'hipsters' that I formspring stalk (not going to lie, but lets face it, everyone does it) would hate to be labelled that term. 
Like back in 2k4, when everyone was like "IM SO NOT EMO" but secretly they googled the term 'emo' to make themselves more emo so more people would call them emo so they could deny it etc....
So who invents these labels? These lifestyle tribes that are so import from when you're about 8 to about 20? Every young person I know uses them, but denies ferverently that they are part of a group. I think its because labelling makes you less individual, and humans are essentially egotistical, so it's okay to categorise other people but not okay to be categorised yourself. One is, of course, somewhat superior to everyone else because you're a 'hipster' who doesn't just enjoy mainstream music post-ironically, you actually appreciate Lady Gaga's lyrics. 'I want to take a ride on your disco stick'? Gosh, so poignant. 
So yeah. That was a ramble which would have made more sense if I'd thought about it, but I was half watching crimewatch. 
HAHA x

Tuesday, 29 March 2011

"You look like a Bumblebee in a Blender"

Everyone is talking Leavers Ball, and I am excited, I really am, its just..  the  dress. I can't even fathom looking for one, because I know exactly what I want, and I know I won't be able to afford it. AND DO YOU KNOW WHO'S FAULT THAT IS????????
CHRISTOPHER KANE'S, THATS WHO.

First, I fell in love with his gorrilla print dress  from s/s 2009.
You don't need for me to tell you that it is awesome, and you also don't need for me to tell you that it is still over £1,000 on ebay. I lusted over this for my year 11 prom, but at the time I couldn't even get my hands on the cheaper crocodile version from Topshop. (Instead I wore this scarf skirt dress thing from a vintage shop in Portabello).


But times have moved on, and now I need a new dress, for my sixth form leavers ball. It's going to be in a garden, in a big marquee, so I didn't want anything too princessy... just  something casual and, y'know.. AMAZING.
And then I saw it:
Christopher Kane's pre collection 2011. 



The prints he uses on all of his resort collections are absolutely jaw dropping, and I have looked everywhere for a  cheaper alternative. I came close, with some t-shirts from Your Eyes Lie and a dress I found on ebay, but the dress was an orangey colour, which would NOT compliment my beautiful ginger hair. 
However, I'm over cosmic prints now (well not quite, but maybe not for prom). 
And this is because I was casually flicking through the a/w 2011 collections and I saw these. 


The plastic gel is so nostalgic, and would change colour when worn making the dress beautifully imaginative. The mesh with the glitter is so cheeky, its like tounge in cheek rock  and roll and I love it. It's so me!


So does anyone out there know of a place to get Christopher Kane-esque dresses? Or just know of a fabulous way to fall in love with a new dress?? GOSH PROM IS SO STRESSFUL xxxx
Rhio xxxx 

 

Friday, 25 March 2011

Twitter.

Twitter used to confuse me, because I imagined there would be more to it.

Sunday, 20 March 2011

I walk downstairs

AND THERE IS A REPLICA RIFLE JUST LAYING BY THE DOOR!!!!!!
The beautiful thing about this song is that it is the theme for 'Great British Hairdresser', one of my latest crap TV obsessions. BUT I'm more obsessed with this film called 'THE HIDE' 
I spent a whole day searching for it, on lists of top 100 movies etc, because I couldn't remember what it was called, and then I just remembered. Pretty productive day I say, I even did some homework and driving practice. But admittedly the majority of the day was spent on film forums. So much so that I havn't eaten. OH WELL all good practice for when I am a student. 


Im working on the Living In Squalour part too. 

xox

Friday, 18 March 2011

Now I'm 18 it means I can do naked photoshoots.

Although I wasn't fully naked in this shoot: 






The last one is my personal favourite; Taken by the lovely Amy, based on figures and faces.
I look a bit like the moon from the mighty boosh in the third one, so I used it for my yearbook (Y)

My yearbook form  was so stressful! I don't even know how I'm going to manage the student loans form :S 

In other news, I have just got my 4th (or 5th) ipod working*  YAAAY!! And I know it's pretty late to jump on the Paolo Nutini bandwaggon, but I'm loving "jenny don't be hasty" at the moment. (Also, nearly all of my  muso friends have covered it so it must be good) 
I LEAVE YOU WITH IT IN PARTING:



xx Rhio

*they keep getting robbed or broken or filled up.



Sunday, 13 March 2011

Go and ask the LADY.

SO YEAH  BASICALLY it was my 18th about a week ago. THESE YEARS ARE MEANT TO  BE THE BEST OF MY LIFE. 
So I thought I'd be proactive and start a blog about it. 
ANYWAY SINCE THEN IVE DONE SOME PRETTY COOL STUFF, but nothing as cool as my 18th. 
It was 'cirque du freak' themed: 


 
 

Frankie Goes to Hollywood,  My showgirl costume, The Rocky Horror Picture Show,  Ke$ha, Christina, Candy Buffet, Alan Paul  and Jode (Alan is the Zebra mask) 

Basically just getting tipsy and dancing around dressed 'flamboyantly'.
I ALSO HAD A WELL SICK CAKE: 
made by my wonderful grandma <3
And I saw the Queen.
Pretty lively.

love Rhio xo