Tuesday, 12 April 2011

PARTYING! PARTYING! YEAH!!!!

When you wake up next to someone who looks like this, then you know you've had a good night right? 





Conversely to popular belief, I did not have a good night. 
In fact, I havn't had a good night out for ages. 
I don't know what it is. Maybe the clubs are just not as fun now I'm 18 and have no adrenaline rush about being somewhere I'm not supposed to be. Maybe it's because I'm in a relationship at the moment, and clubs just aren't that fun unless you're single. Or maybe I just havn't been drunk enough recently.
But I think it's more than that. 
To be honest, I've never had the highest self confidence levels, but I've also always had a firm belief in free speech, which often results in me acting or dressing against the mainstream. (I live in a relatively utilitarian way, where I make choices based on whether that action makes me happy). However, most tend to judge me for this. Bouncers give me (and my friends) funny looks when we are actually dancing to songs, rather than just grinding. People don't want a casual smile, they want to be as far away from you as possible. 
But even if they were close, it's not like any relationship would be able to develop. No informal banter-filled chatter would appear. The thing is, with clubbing and going out on the town, its all so... impersonal. 
My first time clubbing, I didn't know what to expect. And fair play, I wasnt in the nicest of places (a grubbby bar which played "Saturday Night", and if you think thats old school, you should have seen the decor!) but I kind of felt like it was a cattle market. 
And although my taste in nightspots has improved, and the horny men have got younger, I don't see people enjoying themselves. I see people dressed unlike themselves, glaring round the club to find their prince for the night. 
Unfortunately for them, the music is so loud, they wont even hear his name. 

 xx 

P.s. writing this has made me feel so old!! I'm sure I'll feel better at uni, where I don't recognise 50% of the people in town!   

No comments: