Friday, 14 September 2012
Tuesday, 28 August 2012
The spotters guide to Festivals.
the shirtless angry guy
this guy forgot his shirt, and probably forgot his tent as well. I guess thats why he's angry. He's the one moshing, even when no one is playing.
the I really love this band guy
This guy doesnt come out of his room until his fave band are on, which is why he is so pale and skinny. more likely to be found at the t-shirt stand than in the actual crowd.
the crazy ecstasy girl
This girl is having a wild night. if she is not picked up by the medics she will probably be swimming in a puddle or shagging your friends, but its okay because neither of them will remember her name in the morning.
the tits out girl
This girl isnt having fun until the whole crowd has seen her titties on the big screen
the festival catwalk girl
bring eyelashes and make up camping, and dont make it to the arena til the afternoon so they look clean. might even brave the showers. hoping to end up on someones tumblr.
the festival hippie
these people only exist at festivals, and mainly stay on the campsites. some of them own stalls, some of them probably stay there the whole year round.
the one true fan
This guy watched this band before you were born, and will be at every gig they play. only came to the festival for one band and refuses to watch anything else. gets angry if the young fans in the crowd jostle him.
the festival family
Because sometimes it is just too hard to find a babysitter.
this guy forgot his shirt, and probably forgot his tent as well. I guess thats why he's angry. He's the one moshing, even when no one is playing.
the I really love this band guy
This guy doesnt come out of his room until his fave band are on, which is why he is so pale and skinny. more likely to be found at the t-shirt stand than in the actual crowd.
the crazy ecstasy girl
This girl is having a wild night. if she is not picked up by the medics she will probably be swimming in a puddle or shagging your friends, but its okay because neither of them will remember her name in the morning.
the tits out girl
This girl isnt having fun until the whole crowd has seen her titties on the big screen
the festival catwalk girl
bring eyelashes and make up camping, and dont make it to the arena til the afternoon so they look clean. might even brave the showers. hoping to end up on someones tumblr.
the festival hippie
these people only exist at festivals, and mainly stay on the campsites. some of them own stalls, some of them probably stay there the whole year round.
the one true fan
This guy watched this band before you were born, and will be at every gig they play. only came to the festival for one band and refuses to watch anything else. gets angry if the young fans in the crowd jostle him.
the festival family
Because sometimes it is just too hard to find a babysitter.
Thursday, 10 May 2012
Exit Earth - 'Brandon' : Review
I don't usually write
music reviews, but I'm a friend-of-bands, so go figure.
When
'researching' this article, the first thing I noticed was that
Youtube's top suggested link from Exit Earth's 'Brandon' takes you to
a clip from BBC1's the voice. Hopefully this is a coding mistake,
because Exit Earth are keeping the music scene real (and not in the
reality TV sense). On the first listen, Exit Earth sounds like
cigarette smoke, rubble and posters ripped out of magazines. If
that needs further explanation: 1) get more in touch with your
synaesthesia, dammit! , and 2) they're a pretty angsty teenage punk
band. But that label puts most people off, so I'm loathe to stick it
on them just yet. For an emerging band they have some kick. The
choppy guitar reminds me of the Libertines, and clandestine gigs in
warehouses where everyone gets drunk and fights/has sex. The
accompanying video (which you will spy at the top of this blog) has a
similarly thrown-together feel (probably because it was actually home
made FUCK DA MAINSTREAM!!!!) Saying that, the cinematography
and general feel of the video is pretty good. It features frontman, Symrun Johal, wistfully playing guitar amidst the aftermath of
a party, in a myriad of ironic slogan t-shirts emphasising the
demoralization associated with being a youth. (Why am I telling you
this? Press play! ^^^)
As far as lyrics go,
they're along the same lines. In fact, the lyrics essentially narrate
the video. An artistic decision, or just a lack of imagination I
don't know, but what I do know is that for me, the lyrics were a
little clichéd. With vocals somewhere between the drawling whine of
Nirvana and the abruptness of the Vaccines, there is the potential
to take these lyrics away from the trope of band practice in your
mates bedroom, to somewhere with a little more punch, and hopefully that will happen on their next release. 'Brandon' is a song that
fully encapsulates the monotony of modern youth culture in a way that
is crisp, involving and current. Personally, if Exit Earth's “omg shreds” were louder or heavier, so that they make me want to punch someone in
the face whilst vomiting, they would make my fave bands list, but that doesn't detract from the
frustrated melancholia of this single. For an emerging band these
boys are producing something fresh and different, and they are well
worth a listen (or a cheeky download). Exit Earth can only improve on
this already winning combination. - Rhio
Marvel-ous.
OHKAAAY I never blog about things on time, but TRUST ME I have been excited about The Avengers since Iron Man, and have been watching TONS of Marvel films, talking about Marvel films, and of course whacking on my hipster 3D glasses to watch the newest Marvel film.
It was awesome no? All the fighting and exlosions, and sexy avengers, and fighting, and outerspace robots, and fighting, and clever one-liners and the Hulk smashing things, and did I mention FIGHTING AND EXPLOSIONS???
In homage, I created this (awful) set on polyvore, which got me thinking about my favourite superhero film costumes.
Shockingly for some, I don't actually like the comics (trying to look at the words and the pictures at the same time hurts my brain), which meant I don't listen to criticism about whether the comic is better than the film, and subsequently meant I quite enoyed Suckerpunch. Mainly for the costumes.
It was awesome no? All the fighting and exlosions, and sexy avengers, and fighting, and outerspace robots, and fighting, and clever one-liners and the Hulk smashing things, and did I mention FIGHTING AND EXPLOSIONS???
In homage, I created this (awful) set on polyvore, which got me thinking about my favourite superhero film costumes.
Shockingly for some, I don't actually like the comics (trying to look at the words and the pictures at the same time hurts my brain), which meant I don't listen to criticism about whether the comic is better than the film, and subsequently meant I quite enoyed Suckerpunch. Mainly for the costumes.
The costumes are all feminine but totally badass! I liked the way that by keeping some elements the same in each scenario (like Babydoll's collar) reality was skewed, and it just enhanced the confusion within the girls minds. The muted colours were a good choice, because whilst nude tones are pretty and feminine against the background the girls looked grubby and like their clothes were fogotten about, reflecting the family situations that put them into the home. In the Buresque house scenes, vintage gym-knickers were paired with basques and socks. The juxtaposition mixed innocence with objectification, which heightened the pain that the girls were going through, as it linked them with childhood innocence, and was a constant reminder of Babydoll's abusive stepfather. The mix of innocence and hightened-sexuality was omnipresent in the film, having the girls fight in a lingere type uniform. This style of costume was used in Battale Royale, and I love it, not simply for the fact that watching children facing disturbing adult situations is grotesque, but because pleated skirts are badass!!
Mystique and Rogue from X-Men are the next that I'm going to mention.. Mystique, because although its not technically a costume, as she's naked, is still awesome. The detail on her body is beautiful, reminding me of the nascar lines and prehistoric alien theories, which highlights her majesty. The fact she has a bright skin, and the way she moves in the film is lizardlike, reflecting her slippery nature, but most importantly her exact shade of cobalt blue is the new black!
Rogue on the other hand is awesome because although she tries to dress unnasumingly, you can still tell there is something different about her. I love hoods and gloves and long coats, because they shroud the wearer in mystery whilst still being elegant. And Rogue is elegant - look how nicely she scrubs up, making her distinctive hair go from an accident to a statement.
Talking of distinctive hair, I love Ramona Flowers from Scott Pilgrim. It's not just her hair (that she changes all the time) but her colourful outfits. Though the style of normal kids, wearing hoodies and jeans etc, the bright colours make her stand out and portray a vibrant personality which is difficult to connect with. The same-but-different persona in her clothes is reflected in the way Scott sees her, and is the main reason she is so alluring. Her choker and rollerblades are awesome too, putting a vintage edge on Ramona's look, which makes her a timelessly cool character.
These are just a few of my favourites, but all the costumes in superhero films are awesome, because superheroes are awesome and badass and can do martial-arts without any training. However, I cannot, so when I wear a cape out I look stupid.
EXPLOSIONS!11!!!!!!!!!!!!1
XXO
Sunday, 1 April 2012
How to wear Crop Tops (according to a Trashy London Hipster)
We've had about five gloriously sunny days, jus' chilling in Hyde Park, and for me that means one thing and one thing only... SUMMER IS HERE. (I'm such a summer person, honestly. It is never 'too hot', and you get to do stupid things like play frisbee with hippies).
When it is summer I have a kind of uniform. A tan happy uniform at that.... crop tops.
Here are my top ways to wear this trend (which isn't really a trend but TOTES should be, because it is super cute and there are so many ways to work that sexy midriff)
1. 90s casual. (because sometimes less is more).
My uniform for the day time - a bright, playful crop over denim shorts. Or running shorts. Or hotpants. Basically, get a regular casual jeans and t-shirt look and halve it.
My pick of choice is a tie-dye spaghetti strap crop, but anything fairly loose with a playful print or pattern is chilled.
I like it because it reminds me of the 90's and Azealia Banks (but that might just be because I saw a really cute mickey mouse crop in H&M)
2. Like a Sexy Prarie Girl.
For this look you will need -
a bustier/sculpted/underwear as outerwear type crop
a floaty maxi skirt that sits on the waist.
Im a fan because it is like a day to night look, it makes an impact, and its totally mysterious. Its reminiscent of a victorian literary heroin, or an exotic romany gypsy, both of which are alluring and feminine and AWESOME.
3. To make an impact
On a night out it is good to bear a cheeky bit of flesh, obviously because it is the only way to keep cool in a sweaty london club. However there is a major problem which needs to be avoided: when you're drinking copious amounts of cheap beer, the bubbles bloat you. PRAISE THE HIGH WAIST! Shorts, skirts, trousers, ANYTHING that will suck you in but still shows flesh means the crop is not waisted!
This also gives you the option of picking a really tiny crop - often referred to as underwear, but if you wish to stay classy call it a 'bandeau'. Like Katy Perry, I would advocate sparkles (sparkles are cool), but anything fun will work as its minimal. (minimal because you are not wearing anything - awesome huh?)
When it is summer I have a kind of uniform. A tan happy uniform at that.... crop tops.
Here are my top ways to wear this trend (which isn't really a trend but TOTES should be, because it is super cute and there are so many ways to work that sexy midriff)
1. 90s casual. (because sometimes less is more).
![]() |
| like fashion toast who you should check out. |
My uniform for the day time - a bright, playful crop over denim shorts. Or running shorts. Or hotpants. Basically, get a regular casual jeans and t-shirt look and halve it.
My pick of choice is a tie-dye spaghetti strap crop, but anything fairly loose with a playful print or pattern is chilled.
![]() |
| S Club are loving the 90's |
I like it because it reminds me of the 90's and Azealia Banks (but that might just be because I saw a really cute mickey mouse crop in H&M)
2. Like a Sexy Prarie Girl.
![]() |
| For once, Miley Cyrus is doing something I approve of.. |
For this look you will need -
a bustier/sculpted/underwear as outerwear type crop
a floaty maxi skirt that sits on the waist.
Im a fan because it is like a day to night look, it makes an impact, and its totally mysterious. Its reminiscent of a victorian literary heroin, or an exotic romany gypsy, both of which are alluring and feminine and AWESOME.
3. To make an impact
On a night out it is good to bear a cheeky bit of flesh, obviously because it is the only way to keep cool in a sweaty london club. However there is a major problem which needs to be avoided: when you're drinking copious amounts of cheap beer, the bubbles bloat you. PRAISE THE HIGH WAIST! Shorts, skirts, trousers, ANYTHING that will suck you in but still shows flesh means the crop is not waisted!
This also gives you the option of picking a really tiny crop - often referred to as underwear, but if you wish to stay classy call it a 'bandeau'. Like Katy Perry, I would advocate sparkles (sparkles are cool), but anything fun will work as its minimal. (minimal because you are not wearing anything - awesome huh?)
![]() | |||||
| for inspiration look at Jessie J - the crémé of the cr | op. |
You can also wear a crop top for running. Yay.
![]() |
| go Paula! |
Wednesday, 29 February 2012
Olympia
My first uni fashion show ran this weekend!
(A nice round up of LFW I must say)
Here is my finished collection:
I was inspired by the Sports Luxe trend, Ferris Bueller and English heritige fabrics. I got lots of compliments on my Menswear, which was great as it was the first time I'd delved into it!! I feel it befitted the 'Olympic' theme, and some pieces (i.e. the shorts) will deffo be worn out again.
I loved modelling and designing - if you ever have a chance to get involved with a fashion show, DO it is such a buzz!
Some of my favourite pieces:
This tribal sporty collection was so wearable, and so well made! modelled by Erin :)
Shabs designed a beautiful collection centered around real bird feathers. I love the sheer panells, and the way it is strong but still feminine, modelled by Sriya.
I thought Lucinda's collection was adorable! So whimsical and pretty. Modelled by Sophie,
All photos taken by Rich Kerr
(A nice round up of LFW I must say)
Here is my finished collection:
I was inspired by the Sports Luxe trend, Ferris Bueller and English heritige fabrics. I got lots of compliments on my Menswear, which was great as it was the first time I'd delved into it!! I feel it befitted the 'Olympic' theme, and some pieces (i.e. the shorts) will deffo be worn out again.
I loved modelling and designing - if you ever have a chance to get involved with a fashion show, DO it is such a buzz!
Some of my favourite pieces:
This tribal sporty collection was so wearable, and so well made! modelled by Erin :)
Shabs designed a beautiful collection centered around real bird feathers. I love the sheer panells, and the way it is strong but still feminine, modelled by Sriya.
I thought Lucinda's collection was adorable! So whimsical and pretty. Modelled by Sophie,
All photos taken by Rich Kerr
Wednesday, 22 February 2012
I've started writing for the Buzz
My Uni tabloid. This is my first article. It will be a little more thought through and uni-centred than the rubbish I write on here :) But if you're interested.... xx
Sunday, 5 February 2012
Bowie inspired
Thursday, 26 January 2012
I like things - starring Hello Kitty.
Hello Kitty and Liberty's
Hello Kitty and Badges
Hello Kitty and Soap
Hello Kitty and Vans
...
Hello Kitty and Pears???
Wednesday, 11 January 2012
Unlucky
![]() |
| My Grandmas Canadian Fleece jacket, My mum's vintage wool jumper, Crushed Velvet leggings from Blue Banana, Purple Doc Martins |
Better still, the original picture shows our 'bespoke' Christmas decorations, aaaand I know it's unlucky to have them up etc, but aren't they cool??
BEEEEER TREE!!!!!!
Yeahhh students xxx
Wednesday, 4 January 2012
Born ViIllain
As much as I used to like Marilyn Manson (and, tangentially, get him confused with Marylin Munroe) the born villain video, done with Shia LeBouf is a little clichéd. I know Manson has a certain aesthetic to cling to, but there are only so many Nazi inspired video's one can take. The disclaimer as you enter the site may even worsen the lack of provocative shock this video produces. A click box to prove you're 18? Hello? This is the internet, and I'm sure I could be more affected without a warning. For instance, I could watch just as many meathooks being inserted into flesh on a bbc iplayer-ed documentary about african tribes. Or I could just go to the circus, as the poor directing of photography made the performers look no more threatening than if I were to watch a Cabaret.
Maybe I'm being a bit harsh as I've admittedly never directed anything before in my life, but c'mon Manson, you've been doing this for years! And LeBouf? So much better when fighting robots are involved.....
Maybe I'm being a bit harsh as I've admittedly never directed anything before in my life, but c'mon Manson, you've been doing this for years! And LeBouf? So much better when fighting robots are involved.....
![]() |
| A tribal piercing |
| Manson and his late night kebab |
![]() | |
| The Circus of Horrors cast |
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)































