Saturday, 20 December 2014

Someone did a double take and dropped their shopping because I walked past them in the supermarket today.

I'm not sure how well I will readjust to uk life... western looks are considered so beautiful here that im starting to feel all hot problems.

Someone did a double take and dropped their shopping because I walked past them in the supermarket today.
I had read about this happening, but didnt expect it to be true, as most other bloggers were banging on about being chased down the street by people who thought they were gods or something, and how being told how gorgeous they are seriously hinders their way of life. It's not all that, trust.
Usually, its people i'm actually talking to who just snide into the conversation a nonchalant 'you are velly beautifuru'. Or the ease in social situations that make blonde people aggressive.
However there was this one time...
I was at the port at a time of no ferries, so all was quiet. I thought I would take the chance to experience Yaoi Kusama's red pumpkin alone. I climbed inside the artwork and marvelled at the way the sunlight created new everchanging polkadots, and how the colours of the sky and pumpkin were reflected onto the concrete, creating a softer more natural, meditative place, bringing the instillation into a deeper sphere than the exterior pop art visuals frequent.
I heard a noise behind me.
It was a small throat clearance, perhaps a polite japanese way of asking me to move from the doorway, so they could see the work.
I shuffled along the claustraphobic pumpkin wall. It was a man in a suit.
"Konnichiwa''.
"Konnichiwa'' I replied.
"Are you sightseeing?''
I explained that I lived here, in japanese, (because its always good to practice) and I asked him what he was doing. He told me, and then said something I didn't understand.
"Summimasen I'm sorry wakarimasen I dont understand.''
"Eh...'' he stammered, ''you're so beautiful!''.
...
I mumbled thanks then squeezed my way past him, and inelegantly clambered back out of the pumpkin. (I mean, what do you say!)


A note for all men trying to compliment a woman: dont do it in a small space whilst you are blocking the only exit!

Thursday, 18 December 2014

But mummy I don't want to go to bed

Japanese parenting totally perplexes me.
On the one hand, Japanese children are the most well behaved, adorable little cherubs ever. The smallest of toddlers will clamber into a seat at my cafe and sit perfectly calmly and quietly and eat a full meal with no distractions or toys to amuse them. (My brother still has problems with this and he is 18.) Primary school children walk to school alone at 6am. You never hear japanese babies cry.

However, the parenting is like everything you've ever heard in the uk reversed! Babies do not have a set bedtime. A lot of the time, japanese couples, with their 1or 2year old babies in tow will arrive just in time for last orders! I remember 9pm being a late nigh tfor me when I was 11! Also, the amount these kids eat is atrocious. I struggle with the size of the curry rice we serve, yet kids the same size as the plate are expected to finish every bite.

There doesnt seem to be a 'healthy routine' pandemic here, and there are no hoots given about health and safety, or getting your 5a day.
Perhaps the west has it alll wrong; after all Japan keeps pumping out the most hardworking, clever and awesome at computer gaming children in the world.

Or maybe the kids just turn out like that to try to impress the busy
parents who they never see.

Wednesday, 10 December 2014

I work part time and I literally LIVE at work.

The Japanese work ethic is unrelenting!
There is never a jobless moment, even if that job is seemingly pointless.
For example, it is quiet season, and we have cleaned every inch of the cafe, folded 100 plastic bags into little triangles, and practiced different ways to cut a caprese salad.
And these are just the jobs I am paid to do!
In my time off I have helped to dismantle and rebuild my bunkbed in the guesthouse I live in (why this was necessarry I do not know) cleaned a ton of toilets, and run errands for people. Plus there is the eternal Japanese language study, but lets not talk about that.....
But this is just the done thing. Japanese people are ALWAYS busy, and always genki* about it. They are cheerful about the ridiculous hours they work, and filling their free time with visits to friends, odd jobs etc. It is unexpected to actually fill your free time with leisure activities ('Wow you're TRAVELLING at Christmas? So you won't stay on the island??!!). Its a fun environment because there is always something to do.
But it is enjoyably exhausting.

I remember a friend at Uni saying he couldn't wait for a 9-5 so he could be a Weekend Warwick. I was bemused at the time, but now I TOTALLY get it!

Thanks for reading,
I now have to (typically) run to work....

MATTE NE**!

*happy and bouncy and energetic; on top of the world
**See you later

Saturday, 29 November 2014

Who told asia that the done thing was to take earl grey with milk?

I just can't....


Meet the World - aka i'm bragging, sorry, not sorry.

Today I got a day off cafe work to hang out with Junior High School students, as part of an English Language practice day.
One girl was too cool for English class, and refused to say anything, but she slily sidled up to me and said: "you have cute hair".




Stay Kawaii babes.

Wednesday, 26 November 2014

No news is bad news.

Today the police came to my house to register people who live in each property on the island, and to take their next of kin details, so that if there is an emergency like an earthquake they can contact family. However the japanese authorities decided that taking english names and addresses was too  difficult, so they flicked throuch the book and wrote down a number they found in there. Sorry mum and dad!

Sunday, 23 November 2014

When things from the internet happen in real life.

Most of the guesthouse guests were woken up today by a girl playing one of these in the kitchen:

#tbt late nite youtube circa 2012.
 

Thursday, 20 November 2014

The next Sherlock Holmes.

American customer walks into our cafe and looks at me : ''You're not Japanese!''

Well done mate, I hope you made such astute judgements when viewing the Monet's.

Tuesday, 18 November 2014

I have to refer to my boss as `Master`

I don`t yet have the heart to tell him that this makes it sound like I work in a brothel rather than a cafe.

#becausejapan

Friday, 7 November 2014

I graduated!


So maybe this blog should change to trashy grad, but that's way too American.
Anyway, I'm taking a 'gap yah' in Japan so henceforth this blog will document the trials and tribulations of a gaijin barista in Japan.

Hope you have fun and hilarity time when my adventures read.



Wednesday, 27 August 2014

Burger nips.

So Five Guys hopped the pond to London (if you didn't know that, where have you been??)
Great and all, but if you say "I'm having 5 guys for lunch today" you sound like a ho.



Saturday, 23 August 2014

Questionable outfits worn to Madame Tussauds

Sorry that the quality is bad, these photos were candid. But they put rude tube on tv so get used to low pixels....
Florals and nautical stripes? Just no!
What can I say? The camo, the fluorescent fringed handbag....
Bad dreads
This picture doesn't really do justice to the ugliness of these shoes.
Pat butcher called.... 
Maybe if she was Kim Kardashian
This lady is wearing a bucket hat and a Rainbow fish
Sometimes I leave in pj's. Oh wait..
Bad florals.
Ya look like a wierd lighthouse.
I definitely stayed in a tent like this.. 

Worse from the front for sure!
This couple were just too much. The yellow, the tan, the wig..
stripes and leopard print leggings??

Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Wednesday, 6 August 2014

I chilled in Vienna on a Shoestring...

"Why are we the only one's graduating?" 
"How long will the rest of our student loan last?" 
"I'm scared!"
"Me too... lets go to Vienna!" 

The above is a pretty accurate description of the way my flatmate and I planned our recent trip. 
Being basically still students we have no money. 
Here is how we scrimped and enjoyed Vienna on £300   
Schonbrunn Palace 

Flights and accommodation:  Just over £200 

Our home-gal was on a year abroad, doing one of those sweet degrees which get you a free year long holiday. This is bitchin' because it means we had a free holiday house. And, like, staying with other students means being drunk, coming home late and watching catfish all day instead of "enjoying cultural activities". So I was super lucky to have a rad place to stay, totally free. 
If you don't know the right people, I guess you could hostel, or couchsurf, or camp, or just sleep in train stations like some happy hitchers I know. But, srsly, get on meeting foreigners, befriending them and abusing their sofas.

Holiday adventures: £160
I enjoyed most of the things I managed to squeeze in. Obvs every budget is different, and there will be different interests and priorities but here is some good and bad stuff to waste your money on:

Stuff to Do: 
*All of this stuff is pretty cheap. Or free.

Drink by the river 
Unlike the UK, where drinking a bottle of supermarket alcohol next to a river would be fairly questionable, in Wien it's totes chill. There are some super trendy beach bars by the Danube. Like, someone decided "you know what Vienna needs? A beach." and then they went and poured sand out on the floor and stuck some deckchairs there. This worked for some reason, and although the bars are packed, its also legit to just sit next to them with your own alcohol, and spend  €2.50, rather than  €4.50, on a beer. Groovy.


Hang out in gardens and pretend to be a princess. Or pretend a pigeon is a princess. Whatevs.
The Schonbrunn Gardens are 100% free, and really pretty to walk around in, and just chill and chat. There is also a maze and zoo, which cost money, and you could do them if you like, but you don't need to when there is such a crazy beautiful palace to look at! Or, like us guys you could spend an hour watching the devil squirrels and a pigeon. Your life, your choice.
Devil squirrels
Princess Cici the pigeon


aMAZEing



Go swimming. 
Swimming in the Danube is super fun, as long as you don't consider the grossness of swimming in an actual river. Its also full of like minded teenagers, getting drunk on pedalos and sunbathing. (Assuming you go in the summer). There are a ton of cafes and bars near the swimming spot too, although not many were actually open, which is weird, as it was peak season. Another thing to note: Vienna gets HOT. And I mean 40 degrees hot, not London hot. Was. Not. Prepared.
But it makes swimming totally beachy and lush.


Get ice cream. 
Ice cream is good wherever you are, especially in a city where every building looks like an icecream.

Hang with cats, because people suck.
There is a cute little cat cafe in Vienna, Cafe Neko. Its such a relaxing place, and its only around  €3 for a drink, which gives you unlimited time with the cats. Not that the cats really want strokes, they're all stroked out and want to sleep and run away from visitors. But still, its fun to waste away an hour or two around cats. Even though the idea of actually eating anything there grosses me out!

Go to a gallery in a palace.
The ultimate 2 4 1 sightseeing deal. Nailed it.
Belvedere Gardens 
Belvedere Palace gallery
Klimt - The Lovers
                                 

Stuff not to do:
I spent money on this stuff, and would recommend you pick up a couple of extra tinnies..

Go to a hipster club 
I wouldn't advise a night out to Grelle Forelle, despite it being pretty well recommended. Firstly, there are no hipsters in Vienna, so they're off to a bad start. But I think my dislike of this club stems from a wider dislike of clubs that think that they have to play house music to be cool. I get that some people like house, but to be a hipster these days, one has to hang out in a hard-to-find, mysterious club, under a car park, that plays electronic bleeping until 6am. That's so not much fun. Unless you're on drugs.
getting lost looking for hipsters
However, the tiiiiny crowd (which was pretty happenin' for a Vienna night I was told) didn't act like their eyes were vibrating from the insides. In fact, the smoking area was busiest, which is great if you need a club wristband to overcome your inhibitions about talking to new people, but not great for any kind of vibe. And the drinks were expensive.


Take your dogs to bark at the cats.
As I mentioned, I found the cat cafe relaxing, and amusing in its own right. However, the people of Vienna obviously want more excitement in their lives, and, that comes from walking your frenzied dog right up to the window of Cafe Neko, to terrify the cats. (This happened a couple of times just in our one visit!) Okay, okay, some people are 'dog people' but this is too far. Let sleeping cats lie and all that...

Cross the road like a normal person
Cars don't stop at zebra crossings. The zebra crossings are just there to trick you. Giant zebras everywhere, that are seemingly purposeless.

Miss the ball season.
Balls are still a thing. They still happen, and they are still fabulous, so I'm told. Obviously, our flight was the week after the ball season ended. Gutted.

Other stuff to think about when travelling is, of course:

Food €20 approx.
Obviously go to a supermarket. Even budget European cheese and ham is fancy compared to Sainos basics here in the UK.
Also, judging by the one meal we did have out, the food in Vienna isn't all that.
We ate at Café europa, a place famous for still serving food late into the night. Personally, if I was after a midnight snack, a rock hard burger < schnitzel. Or kebab, or cheese fries....or just a decent burger.
schnitzel. or squished fried ham. 


Transport: €20 approx. (or free if you're smart...)
Okay, I can't remember what I actually paid, but I had a daily budget of €20 and remember getting pretty feared about spending my first days drinking money on a frikin' U Bahn Weekly Travel card... before I realised that it actually worked out at about €5 per day. Cheaper than TFL so can't complain.
But you're an idiot if you buy one as they don't ever check these things. My friend was there for a whole year and only got checked on her last day. The irony.

Pole dancing by the rathaus
 

Verdict on Vienna:
My overall verdict on Vienna is that it's a charming place to visit. Its totally fancy, and there is so much ridiculous Baroque that you feel like you're in the Sims. On a £300 budget its pretty fun, you can suck up the atmosphere, and experience stuff that you wouldn't in London. For a city break its way more relaxing than I expected, and you should totally check it if you're in Europe. 

Auf Wiedersehen xxox

Tuesday, 29 April 2014