Wednesday, 10 December 2014

I work part time and I literally LIVE at work.

The Japanese work ethic is unrelenting!
There is never a jobless moment, even if that job is seemingly pointless.
For example, it is quiet season, and we have cleaned every inch of the cafe, folded 100 plastic bags into little triangles, and practiced different ways to cut a caprese salad.
And these are just the jobs I am paid to do!
In my time off I have helped to dismantle and rebuild my bunkbed in the guesthouse I live in (why this was necessarry I do not know) cleaned a ton of toilets, and run errands for people. Plus there is the eternal Japanese language study, but lets not talk about that.....
But this is just the done thing. Japanese people are ALWAYS busy, and always genki* about it. They are cheerful about the ridiculous hours they work, and filling their free time with visits to friends, odd jobs etc. It is unexpected to actually fill your free time with leisure activities ('Wow you're TRAVELLING at Christmas? So you won't stay on the island??!!). Its a fun environment because there is always something to do.
But it is enjoyably exhausting.

I remember a friend at Uni saying he couldn't wait for a 9-5 so he could be a Weekend Warwick. I was bemused at the time, but now I TOTALLY get it!

Thanks for reading,
I now have to (typically) run to work....

MATTE NE**!

*happy and bouncy and energetic; on top of the world
**See you later

No comments: