Monday, 30 May 2011

That awkward moment when everyone is sad to leave, but you don't care, because you hate them.

So, my last ever week in state funded education is over (except for exams of course). At last! It could not have come quick enough!
As a fitting tribute, I decided to document my "smart-casual" attire over the last week. I have had an issue with my college uniform - as in everywhere else I have been told to wear smart casual, jeans have been acceptable. The guideelines are ridiculous, as nobody wears 'smart office wear' because nobody has the money for suits, the teachers have their own ideas. The one time I tried to copy a smart casual look from Vogue, I got sent home, yet just leggings and a sheer top are allowed. (No, that's not a look I go for in school, because although being body confident is SUPER, you look like a slut). 

So,  here is how I dressed for college (and yes, it is vaguley horrible):

Monday: I took the day off and wore jeans and a shirt, just for chilling. It doesnt really count, but I put it in as a comparison, because I think it is a smarter look than all of the rest and they should allow jeans. 
Tuesday: I liked wearing this in.  Breaking the no shorts rule, and mainly all thrifted or free giveaways, its really comfy, and looks half way normal. Also, FRINGING on the shorts :) :) 
Wednesday: This is my work clothes, I kind of forgot about work and had changed by the time I remembered about a photo, but sometimes I dressed this smartly for school. Before that I'd been in all black, so not even worth documenting, but when in doubt, wear black. 
Thursday: HAD to whack in these bad boys - getting a cheap pair of smart trousers is hard, getting a hideous elasticated waistband pair of jodpur hybrids = much easier. Vans, because I like to look like scum and pretend I'm in gym wear.
Friday: my last day, forgot a photo, which is kind of good because my dress is ridiculously short. But you understand the blue fitted nature from that picture of me and a few people I'm genuinely friends with. HA. 

I  really want to burn those grey trousers.. but no battle with daily fashion any more!

TALKING OF BATTLES, there was a big fight, when some chavs started on the remains of our leavers BBQ. I wasn't there though, which is probably a good thing, but I'm still really angry there are people  like that in the world. One of them looked like the inbred child with the banjo from deliverence too.. 

xox

Monday, 23 May 2011

Garra Rufa

This was me today. (Well, the picture isn't me, I forgot to take my camera).
I am a convert, my feet are so soft and smooth!! Plus, it beats going to english lessons. WIN WIN for me. 
As well as that I've been busy-busy, and have written a few kick ass essays, and one not so kick ass (in my own humble opinion). 
BUT HERE IS A LITTLE WARNING FROM ME :
my exams are ridiculously soon, which is proper scary, soooo I may not blog that much :( IKR you are crying. 
But I will hopefully win at the A-Level game, so that is, I suppose, good enough compensation. 
Plus, I will probably blog as a revision distraction, but enough about my procrastination!! 

See you in a few, and you better wish me luck, because I wish you the best luck in any exams you might have!!
And here are the Vaccines, my new love of the moment: 

("like the ramones mixed with joy division played too fast" in the words of my parentals.)
xx

Wednesday, 18 May 2011

Tie die,

I wasn't sure about this when I put it together (I'm usually not sure about what I'm wearing to college) but as the day went on I appreciated it more. 
It was meant to symbolise  where I am in my life right now. (I suppose all clothes do this, but I could write a dissertation about that, so I wont). 
Basically I'm stuck in a limbo at the moment, between the teenage pressures of school and exams, and freedom and the cusp of adulthood. 
'The Ramones' tee (from Camden Market) and my Doc Martins are a portrayal of my teen angst. The cardigan is symbolic of  childhood innocence and school uniform - I thought the washed out colour worked well because it looked well worn, and believe me my education is well worn! 
On a happier note, the skirt and my jewelry make me think of  summer, and hippy-chic, and never working again!!


Eiffel Tower - for travel, Leaf - autumnal change and Peace...for peace.


I love the cold metallic tones of my skirt and DM's together - reflect the changeability of water. 
"you can never step in the same river twice" - Heraclitus. 

 And a close up of my belt, because I love it. 

:) xxxx


Monday, 16 May 2011

Should Confidentiality be Compromised in relation to Rehabilitation?

Ted Bundy, The Manson Family, Aileen Wuornos

These three killers have been over-publicised since their arrests. But publication post-event does  not stop the event happening, or account for the wrong. However, most killers, and indeed most people inclined to commit crime are often known to the authorities before they do anything major. In fact, most people who could benefit from state social care are known to the authorities, but in most cases, help always comes too late. 
Should the authorities, then, share their knowledge with the general public? Would that benefit these people, if everyone could help them or at least be wary of them?
On the one hand, over publicising could alienate people from each other, as  a sense of mistrust and victimisation builds throughout society. As well as this it is compromising privacy. 
But isn't there an argument in favour of free speech here? It is a tricky one as Max Mosely has come to realise, but it also involves the right to know. There is a strong possibility  that society could actually benefit by being more open - I mean look at the Victorians; so secretive and so WRONG! 
If people warned each other, they could also help each other, and trust each other to share. 
Yes in our fast capitolist society the dog-eat-dog business mantra prevails, but I am slowly beginning to think that maybe Aristotle was right, and we should develop ourselves to become more virtuous. And one of the ways we can do this is by sharing... 

Sunday, 15 May 2011

OH LOOK AN OUTFIT POST!!! GROOVY.

Went out like this yesterday, to a friends house to watch Eurovision. Its not often I get to dress DOWN, usually I'm dressing up to go out or wearing some sort of uniform, so it was nice. Also, I love being able to wear this waistcoat without feeling like Robin Hood. It's one of those pieces I always try on in front of the mirror and then disregard. I do love it though.. you can't really tell, but it is suede. Forest green suede. Need I say more? An added bonus was that it was really cheap (£3 I think!) from a charity shop.* The only thing I don't like are the poppers down the front.. they make it look a little home-sewn. But when you're channelling woodstock, morris men and woodland gnomes, who cares??? 
I also think the forest tones are carried through the outfit well through use of my belt-of-the-moment; I occasionally raid my grandmother's warderobe, and last time, I found this wonderful belt that makes me think of cowboys. 

Did you watch eurovision? Its kind of a cringey/geeky/British thing to do.. 

  
These entries were my favourite (Russia, Moldova and Sweden)
Sometimes, you want to know exactly what they were thinking. MADNESS. (Listen to the Russian lyrics, they're positively chilling)
Unfortunately, Azerbaijan won. On the plus side, the UK did WAY better than normal (aka not last), and the crowd were LOVING the Irish Jedward.
g o o d t i m e s .

ALSO I found this other outfit of things I got from charity*:


The best and brightest shirt ever no? This was my answer to 'smart-casual' at college. And trust me, I dont get much smarter.
BYE FOR NOW XXX rhio :)


*If you're american, you will know this as thrifting.

Wednesday, 4 May 2011

Did you know a silk moth doesnt have a mouth?

This kind of thing makes you think there MUST be a God, doesn't it? For what other telos does the silk moth exist than to provide us with beautiful fabric to adorn our bodies with?
I used to think that killing the worms to get the fibres was cruel, but they only survive for a few days afterwards, so why not utilise them? Kant would say it is using them as a means to an end but, technically, our means is their end, and if it can produce a dress as saught after as Sarah Burton's creation, should we really complain?
Is life greater than beauty or is it not worth having without it? 

xx

P.S. I greatly enjoyed the royal wedding... no one does pomp and ceremony quite like we do, and it was perfectly oestentatious with a liberal amount of solemnity. 
My four weddings scores for the day: 
Venue: 10/10 (the trees in the abbey? B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L and inspired! And you can't beat a palace. Ever.)
Food: 9/10 (Lovely, of course, wish I'd have eaten it, sounds DEEElish, and the McVities thing is so cute, but hasnt quite got the splendour of some wedding feasts held by previous Kings and Queens, so I'm docking the mark)
Dress: 7/10 (classic, simplisticly beautiful, but I would have dropped the waist a little to flatter more of her sporty figure, and the veil covered the bustle detail)
Overall Experience: 10/10 (ace day with the added bonus of excess pimms consumption)

Total score: 36/40 
I sincerely hope that less-than-full-marks is not treason! :P 
 xx